I landed in Aarhus, last Sunday morning, ready to reach my hotel in a timely and ordered fashion. I looked up the address I was given online, checked for directions, and even looked up the route I was going to walk to get there on Google Streetview, so that I would know exactly what to expect.

I was set.

Or so I thought.

No one told me that the streets in Aarhus were a three-dimensional construct. That you could get to an intersection and not be able to turn onto the right street, because it happened to be UNDER YOU at the time.

I ended up walking in circles for about 30-40 minutes, dragging my suitcase behind me and feebly fumbling with my GPS map, before I finally snapped and asked someone for directions to the hotel’s address… only to find that the hotel WASN’T THERE when I got there.

Instead of my hotel, I found a construction site! And after pathetically circling it for a few minutes, I finally found a sign that said that the hotel’s reception was on the other side of the construction site. The directions on the sign were less than clear, and I was more than a little worried about ending up, yet again, unable to reach the right street because it was above me/below me/ in another dimension/5 minutes behind me on the space-time continuum.

However, I plucked up courage, tried one of the more likely-looking streets and finally reached reception… only to realize that I had walked past it 5 times already in my previous meanderings.

All in all, though, I’m not complaining.

While I was walking around and desperately trying to find the right way to reach the street I was supposed to get to, I stumbled onto a turn in the road where I could hear music.

The street that that turn led to was one of the ones I thought would lead me in the right direction, so I tried it… and down it, I found a lovely little pub where a band was playing jazz.

I stood and listened for a while, leaning on my suitcase, and then I walked off and continued trying to get to the hotel.

When I finally got to the hotel, the first thing I did was change out of my “travel costume”, and rush back to that pub, where I then spent the rest of the evening getting pleasantly drunk on the EXTREMELY cheap, top notch, top shelf single malts they stocked there.

If I had just found the hotel, I just know I would have settled in for a good long rest. Instead, I had a lovely evening at that pub.

Personally, I consider that a result. 🙂

